Warren County

How Warren County representatives voted on bill to keep federal government open

By Jason Koch, Editor
Posted 10/2/23

How Missouri representatives Ann Wagner and Blaine Luetkeymeyer and Senators Josh Hawley and Eric Schmitt voted on bill to prevent federal government shutdown.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in
Warren County

How Warren County representatives voted on bill to keep federal government open


Both U.S. representatives for Warren County, Ann Wagner (R-2) and Blaine Luetkeymeyer (R-3) voted in support of a stopgap bill to prevent a government shutdown.

U.S. Sen. Josh Hawley also voted in favor of keeping the government open, but U.S. Sen. Eric Schmitt opposed the measure.

The bill, which passed Sept. 30 just hours before the government ran out of money, used a bi-partisan coalition of Republicans and Democrats to keep the federal government open. The bill provides money to keep the government running and provides billions for disaster recovery efforts but does not include additional money for Ukraine or the immigration restrictions many Republicans had pushed for.

The measure passed the House by a vote of 335-91 with 90 Republicans and one Democrat voting against the measure. The only Missouri representative to vote against the bill was Eric Burlison (R-7), who represents the extreme southwest part of the state.

"A government shutdown could cost taxpayers $1 billion to $2 billion per day. That creates an increase to the deficit, a paid vacation for thousands of government workers at the taxpayers’ expense, and a stop to the congressional investigations of President Biden’s seemingly illegal business dealings. Any true conservative would never agree to such irresponsible waste,” Luetkemeyer said in a statement posted to his official House website. “Though it’s only a temporary solution, I’m glad to see progress through this continuing resolution so that we may work out a more permanent budget based on conservative policies that combat the waste and overreach of the Biden administration.”

Wagner, Hawley and Schmitt did not release statements after the vote.

The measure was signed by President Joe Biden shortly before midnight, preventing the shutdown.

About the author: Jason Koch is the editor of The Warren County Record, and covers local news and government for the newspaper. He has won multiple awards from both the Indiana and Illinois APME and from the Illinois Press Association. He can be reached at 636-456-6397 or at jason@warrencountyrecord.com

missouri, representative, senator, government, shutdown