Warren County

Warren County residents will decide seven contested races during April 2024 election

By Jason Koch, Editor
Posted 2/2/24

Residents in Warrenton and Wright City MO will decide contested races for aldermen, voters in the R-II school district have a board of education race.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in
Warren County

Warren County residents will decide seven contested races during April 2024 election


Seven contested races are on the April 2024 ballot along with five ballot questions.

The election is April 2. Voters must be registered by March 6 to be eligible to cast a ballot.

The Warren County Record is sending questionnaires to all candidates in contested races. Those will be published online and in a future edition of The Record.

These are the candidates, contested races, and ballot questions that Warren County residents will see, depending on the city and districts in which they live.


There are two contested races for the three city aldermen positions.

In ward two, incumbent Scott Schulze faces challenger Randy Courtway.

In ward three, incumbent Gary Miller faces challenger Brandon Lang.

Ward one Alderman Jack Crump is unopposed. 

The city also has no ballot questions for voters to decide.


There are no contested races for mayor or aldermen this year.

Incumbent Mayor Jerry Cannon is unchallenged. Cannon was appointed mayor in June 2023 after Chris Watson, who was elected in April 2023, resigned ahead of moving outside the city limits. Incumbent Alderman Justin Naranjo is also unchallenged. He will fill out the remainder of the term he was appointed to in July 2023. 

Incumbent Aldermen Mike Thomas and Joseph Brooks are unchallenged and will serve two-year terms on the board.

Truesdale aldermen have approved a ballot referendum that asks voters to increase the city’s sales tax by one-half of one percent with the additional revenue going to the police department.

Warren County R-III School District

Incumbent board members Deanna Zwyers and Jeff Schneider are unopposed.

Those living in the R-III school district do have a ballot referendum to vote on, though.

The district is asking voters to approve a no-tax increase bond that would provide money for a new elementary school.

Wright City

There is one contested race in the city.

In ward one, Alderwoman Kerry Owens will face challenger Seth Taylor for a two-year term.

Mayor Michelle Heiliger and ward two Alderman Ramiz Hakim are unopposed.

Wright City also has a ballot question for voters to decide. The city is asking for a no-tax increase bond with the money going to pay for repairs to city roads.

Wright City R-II  School District

Three people are running for two positions on the R-II board of education.

Incumbents Dave Mikus and Erin Williams and challenger Frank Zykan are each seeking a two-year term on the board.

There are no ballot questions that school district voters must decide.

Wright City Fire Protection District

There are no contested races or ballot questions for voters to decide in the Wright City Fire Protection District.

Incumbent Directors Rudy Jovanovic and Justin Fears are unopposed.

Warren County Ambulance District

There are two contested races in the Warren County Ambulance District.

In sub-district two, which covers Warrenton north of I-70, incumbent William Ehlenbeck will face challenger Ron McBride.

In sub-district five, which covers Warrenton south of I-70 and Truesdale, incumbent Charles (Jack) Dempsey will face challenger Kevin Swofford.

There are no ballot questions for ambulance district voters to decide.


Three people are running for two trustee positions in the village.

Incumbents Mike Lyles and Donna West and challenger Virgal Tyrone Woolfolk are seeking positions on the village’s board of trustees.

Innsbrook also has a ballot question asking voters to approve an increase in the annual business permit fee with the additional money going into the general revenue fund.


There are no contested elections in Marthasville.

Incumbent Aldermen Chris DeVore and Nicholas Lange are running unopposed.

Marthasville is asking voters to approve a 3 percent sales tax increase on retail sales of adult use marijuana sold in the city.

Marthasville Fire Protection District

There is one contested election for the Marthasville Fire Protection District board.

Incumbent Robert Koch will face challenger Elias McDonald.

There are no ballot questions for fire protection district voters to decide.

Marthasville Ambulance District

There are no contested races or ballot questions in the Marthasville Ambulance District.

The only candidate seeking office in sub-district two is Gary Lee Banderman Jr., and the only candidate in sub-district five is Jeff Backhaus.

Warren County Emergency Services

There is no contested election for the emergency services board.

Four candidates are running for four positions. Martha Groeper and Scott Jacob will represent the southern district and Jason Swyers and Josh Fox will represent the northern district.

Public Water Supply District No. 1 of Montgomery County

The public water district has two candidates running unopposed, John Cook in sub-district three and Darrel Dechant in sub-district four.

About the author: Jason Koch is the editor of The Warren County Record, and covers local news and government for the newspaper. He has won multiple awards from both the Indiana and Illinois APME and from the Illinois Press Association. He can be reached at 636-456-6397 or at jason@warrencountyrecord.com

warren county, election, 2024, warrenton, wright city