Just a few days away, fireworks enthusiasts will have their chance to celebrate the week of Fourth of July with a flash and a bang.

Public fireworks shows will be Saturday, June 29, at the Wright City Lions Club and a week later on Saturday, July 6, at the Warren County Fairgrounds.

But many residents will be planning their own at-home fireworks shows, taking advantage of looser rules surrounding the Fourth of July holiday.

Fireworks are banned for most of the year in several towns, but local restrictions are eased during this time so residents can celebrate America’s Independence Day. Every town has different rules. Those who violate the fireworks rules could also face a fine.

Here’s a quick guide on the rules for fireworks in different areas of Warren County.

Unincorporated — There are no fireworks restrictions for people in unincorporated Warren County.

Warrenton — July 3 and 4, noon to 11 p.m.

Wright City — Fireworks are limited to July 1-4, from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. each day. Fireworks may not be discharged on public property, which means local parks and school parking lots are off limits.

Truesdale — Fireworks are allowed July 1 to July 10, from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. each day. That time is extended to 11 p.m. on July 3 through July 6, which is Wednesday through Saturday.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.